My Pain (musings)

"This is my life.  I do not have any control over the pain and brutality of living the life of a dispossessed person.  I cannot control when that pain and brutality is going to enter into my life.  I have settled with having to deal with racism, pure and simple.  But, I was not ready to have my pain appropriated.  I am pretty possessive about my pain.  It is my pain.  I worked hard for it.  Some days it is all I have.  Some days it is the only thing I can feel.  Do not try to take that away from me too." --Patricia Monture, First Nations--Canada

1 response
Even as as Two spirit Person, I can't even begin to imagine the pain and dispossessed feeling that a 1st Nations person feels at times. As a gay man I have felt my own version of this but it can't in any ways compare. I have a deep respect for the 1st Nations People. We all have our pain to protect, sometimes it's all we have and in a way it gives us strength and a reason to live and move forward in any way we can. This post really moved me. Thank you Andre. Your posts are the only reason I am here.