Native Books (information)

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

Though I don't write to you very often, I hope that you're visiting American Indians in Children's Literature from time to time to see what I've pointed to, or written about.

I want to share two things right now.

First, I created a two-page downloadable pdf with three book lists on it. You can print it and hand it to your children's teacher, or school librarian, or, make fifty (or more) copies and hand them out at a workshop. You don't need to ask for my permission. I'm more interested in getting the list out in the public so that well-written books, many of Native writers, can become more widely known. 

Those books must get more word-of-mouth and they must get purchased again and again. That brings me to the second bit of news I want to share.

Joseph Bruchac's HIDDEN ROOTS is out of print, and Scholastic has no plans to bring it back into print. And, they won't give Bruchac rights to print it at his own press, either. That's a loss for all of us.

So... here's the link with the pdf:
http://americanindiansinchildrensliterature.blogspot.com/2010/09/downloadable-pdf-selecting-childrens.html

And here's the link to my post about HIDDEN ROOTS:
http://americanindiansinchildrensliterature.blogspot.com/2010/09/scholastic-joseph-bruchac-and-out-of.html 

Debbie

Visit my Internet resource: 
American Indians in Children's Literature 
http://americanindiansinchildrensliterature.net

Debbie A. Reese (Nambé O'-ween-ge')
Assistant Professor, American Indian Studies
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Native American House, Room 2005
1204 West Nevada Street, MC-138
Urbana, Illinois 61801

Email: debreese@illinois.edu
TEL 217-265-9885
FAX 217-265-9880